Glenrock Driver Who Caused Fatal Accident Charged With Four Misdemeanors
The Converse County Attorney's Office has charged four misdemeanor counts against the Glenrock woman who drove into a line of cars killing another driver in August.
Prosecutor Joseph Russell charged Cassandra Wickett with vehicular homicide, careless driving, failure to obey traffic control signs, and interference with a peace officer.
If convicted of all counts, Wickett faces a maximum of two years and 40 days in jail, and a $3,400 fine.
Wickett made her initial appearance in Converse County Circuit Court on October 13, and posted a $3,000 bond.
Her next court appearance is scheduled for November 8.
Court records say Wickett was driving about 70 mph eastbound on the Old Glenrock Highway -- U.S. Highway 20 -- about 10 miles west of Glenrock on Aug. 24.
She saw warning signs, including one stating "Prepare to Stop," about a construction zone and stopped cars about a quarter mile ahead of her, according to the Wyoming Highway Patrol affidavit accompanying the charging document.
She also told the first Highway Patrol trooper at the scene that she was talking on her cell phone with Rocky Mountain Power, hung up, and passed out.
But phone records later showed she was probably on the phone at the time when her pickup caused a chain reaction crash by hitting a car with Glenrock resident Leoda Cain and three other stopped vehicles.
Wickett, Cain and occupants of other vehicles were taken to the Wyoming Medical Center for treatment. Wickett did not tell medical personnel she passed out before the crash, according to the affidavit.
Cain died five days later.
Wickett, who was 19 at the time of the accident, initially was charged with following too close.
This is the law about vehicular homicide.
6-2-106. Homicide by vehicle; aggravated homicide by vehicle; penalties.
(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, a person is guilty of homicide by vehicle and shall be fined not more than two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) or imprisoned in the county jail for not more than one (1) year, or both, if he operates or drives a vehicle in a criminally negligent manner, and his conduct is the proximate cause of the death of another person. Evidence of a violation of any state law or ordinance applying to the operation or use of a vehicle or to the regulation of traffic, except for evidence of a violation of W.S. 10-6-103, 31-5-233 and 41-13-206, is admissible in any prosecution under this subsection.
(b) A person is guilty of aggravated homicide by vehicle and shall be punished by imprisonment in the penitentiary for not more than twenty (20) years, if:
(i) While operating or driving a vehicle in violation of W.S. 10-6-103, 31-5-233 or 41-13-206, he causes the death of another person and the violation is the proximate cause of the death; or
(ii) He operates or drives a vehicle in a reckless manner, and his conduct is the proximate cause of the death of another person.
(c) The department of transportation shall revoke the license or permit to drive and the nonresident operating privilege of any person convicted of aggravated homicide by vehicle or of homicide by vehicle.
(d) Any person convicted of aggravated homicide by vehicle for causing the death of another person while operating or driving a vehicle in violation of W.S. 31-5-233 shall not be issued an ignition interlock restricted license under W.S. 31-5-233 or 31-7-401 through 31-7-404.