Wyoming Highway Patrol Reminds Drivers to ‘Move Over’
Winter weather is upon us, and the Wyoming Highway Patrol is reminding drivers of the state's new "move over" law.
The law -- which took effect July 1 -- requires motorists to move over for law enforcement and others who are working on the side of the road.
Those traveling on an interstate must move to the farthest lane away from the stopped vehicle, and those driving on a two-lane road where speeds are 45 mph or greater must slow down to 20 mph below the posted speed limit. Failure to do so can result in a $235 fine.
"No matter where you're traveling ... move over," said Lt. Tim Romig. "By doing so, you can help save a life and make sure the person who not only works in your community but also lives in your community makes it home safe at the end of the day."
The patrol says 18 snow plows and about a dozen patrol cars have been hit by motorists since 2016.