CHEYENNE, Wyo. (AP) — Small, nonfarm businesses in 10 Wyoming counties are now eligible to apply for low interest federal disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration.

The federal loans are to help offset economic losses because of the drought this year.

Counties eligible for the loans are: Natrona, Fremont, Sublette, Carbon, Hot Springs, Lincoln, Park, Sweetwater, Teton and Washakie.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for loans of up to $2 million.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for the Small Business Administration disaster assistance. Farms and ranches have a separate disaster assistance program through the U.S. Agriculture Department.

More From K2 Radio