CHEYENNE, Wyo. (AP) — Three Wyoming schools have been nominated for the National Blue Ribbon Schools award.

The nominated schools are year Glenn Livingston Elementary in Cody, Highland Park Elementary in Sheridan, and Southside Elementary in Powell.

They were nominated for the Blue Ribbon Schools honor by the Wyoming Department of Education.

The United States Department of Education will announce its nationwide list of Blue Ribbon Schools in Sept. of 2014.

Founded in 1982, The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and non-public elementary, middle and high schools where students perform at high levels or where students are making significant gains in academic achievement.