* University of Wyoming press release

LARAMIE -- The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced on Wednesday the football student-athletes from all levels of college football who are being honored this year as members of the 2024 Hampshire Honor Society.

K2 Radio logo
Get our free mobile app

The University of Wyoming had 10 student-athletes earn the honor this year. UW was one of 11 FBS schools to have 10 or more honorees.

An elite group of 1,989 players from 339 schools qualified for membership in 2024, setting a new record for the number of members in a single year during the program's 18-year history. The initiative has now honored 18,387 student-athletes since its inception.

The specific qualifications for selection to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society for 2023 are as follows:
• A senior player, who will graduate this spring/summer, and just completed his final year of playing eligibility in 2023; or
• A graduated player, who has been out of high school at least (3) years;
And must have:
• Attained a minimum undergraduate cumulative GPA of 3.2 (4.0 scale);
• Met all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements; and
• Been starters or significant contributors throughout the 2023 season.

This year's honorees from the University of Wyoming listed alphabetically include:

Ayir Asante (Wide Receiver) – American Studies

Caleb Cooley (Wide Receiver/Punt Returner) – Entrepreneurship

Buck Coors (Defensive Back) – Finance/Statistics

Frank Crum (Offensive Tackle) – Master’s of Business Administration

Cole DeMarzo (Linebacker) – Finance

Ryan Marquez (Wide Receiver) – Master’s of Business Administration

Colin O’Brien (Tight end) – American Studies

Will Pelissier (Wide Receiver) – Master’s of Business Administration

Treyton Welch (Tight End) – High Education Administration

Wyatt Wieland (Wide Receiver) – Management

This is the 17th time in the 18 years that the Hampshire Honor Society has been in existence that the University of Wyoming has had at least one individual selected.

Nominees from all levels of college football are eligible for the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, including: NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, the NAIA and sprint football.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society was created in 2007 to honor college football student-athletes in all divisions. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of the Hampshire Companies, established an endowment to fund the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in `07. He was a former NFF Chairman from 1994-2006, and currently serves as NFF chairman emeritus.

A breakdown of the Wyoming Cowboys inducted into the Society through the years follows:

Hampshire Honor Society Members From the University of Wyoming
2023: Parker Christensen, Frank Crum, Ethan Drewes, Deron Harrell, Marco Machado, Will Pelissier, Clayton Stewart,
Zach Watts, Treyton Welch and Wyatt Wieland
2022: Keegan Cryder and Chad Muma
2021: Justis Borton, Jeff Burroughs, Taylor Dodd and Skyler Miller
2020: Josiah Hall, Josh Harshman, Cooper Rothe, Nick Szpor and Ben Wisdorf
2019: Nico Evans, Adam Pilapil, Nick Smith and Andrew Wingard
2018: Drew Van Maanen
2017: Chase Roullier
2016: Cameron Coffman and Rafe Kiely
2015: Keenan Montgomery, Mark Nzeocha and Stuart Williams
2013: Luke Ruff and Oliver Schober
2012: Clayton Kirven
2011: Dax Crum, Chris Prosinski and Alex Toney
2010: Russ Arnold, Weston Johnson and Jesson Salyards
2009: Jake Edmunds, Michael Ray and Chris Sundberg
2008: Luke Chase, Sean Claffey and Brandon Haugen
2007: Mike Groover, Tyler Holden and John Wendling

UW: University of Wyoming Cowboys’ Greatest Games From the First Decade of the 2000’s

More From K2 Radio