LARAMIE, Wyo. (AP) — Three people will receive the University of Wyoming's highest award, the honorary doctoral degree, during UW commencement ceremonies on May 5.

The three are: longtime Thermopolis teacher and civic leader Karl Allen; Sheridan native Donna Diers, a national leader in nursing education, research and health policy; and Casper native and network news correspondent Pete Williams.

Each year, UW faculty, alumni and current or former trustees are eligible to nominate for honorary degrees individuals who make notable contributions to the health, education or general welfare of Wyoming residents.

The nominees are then considered by a committee headed by UW President Tom Buchanan.