Governor Matt Mead recently named two new members to the Wyoming Community Development Authority (WCDA) Board of Directors.



George Parks and Kristin Lee were selected by Governor Mead and confirmed by the Wyoming Senate to serve four-year terms on the WCDA Board. Parks and Lee replaced Dan Sullivan of Casper and Wayne Deahl of Torrington.



George Parks most recently served as the Executive Director for the Wyoming Association of Municipalities from May 1998 through January 2014. Parks served on the Casper City Council from 1991 - 1998 and was Mayor of Casper in 1993. Having been involved with municipal government for more than twenty years, he has broad experience in advocating for strengthening the effectiveness of city and town governments in Wyoming.



Upon being appointed to the WCDA board, Parks stated,



"I am interested in all kinds of housing, including low-income, because adequate and appropriate housing is a critical element of a quality community.  I am committed to working for quality communities in Wyoming.Home ownership is definitely a positive force in our communities.  I accept that home ownership is not for everyone.  However, I am convinced that in our country there is a definite link between home ownership and positive attributes such as an attractive community appearance, involved citizens, economic stability, environmental responsibility, and public safety. "



Kristin Lee serves as the Director of Legislative and Regulatory Affairs for Century Link in Cheyenne. Lee graduated from the University of Wyoming Law School. Soon after completion of her law degree, Kristin worked for the Attorney General's Office and was then appointed to the Wyoming Public Service Commission by Governor Jim Geringer.



The WCDA Board of Directors is comprised of nine voting members and an ex-officio member - Executive Director, David Haney. In addition to George Parks and Kristin Lee, the current Board members are Governor Matt Mead, State Treasurer Mark Gordon (both of whom serve by virtue of their offices), Chairman, Pat Hand of Cheyenne, Vice Chairman, Lesli Wright of Casper, Secretary Kari Cooper of Jackson, Rob Boner of Douglas, and Judy Lane of Cheyenne. Governor Mead's representative on the Board is Merit Thomas from the State of Wyoming Policy Advisor Office, and Treasurer Gordon's representative is Sharon Garland.



For more information, contact the WCDA at (307) 265-0603.