Wyoming Ranks Low On DUI Penalties Compared to Other States
Drunk driving causes nearly a third of all motor vehicle fatalities in the United States, yet the penalties for DUI are widely different from state to state, the website WalletHub conducted an recent study of 2015’s Strictest and Most Lenient States on DUI.
To help drivers understand which states impose the harshest penalties on drunk drivers, WalletHub analyzed the enforcement rules in each of the 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia across 15 key metrics. Their data set ranges from minimum jail sentences to ignition interlock device requirements that drastically reduce repeat arrests of previously convicted drunk drivers.
The Strictest States on DUI are: #1 Arizona, #2 Alaska, #3 Connecticut, #4 West Virginia, #5 Kansas, #6 Nebraska and #7 Utah.
The Most Lenient States on DUI are: #51 South Dakota, #50 Washington DC, #49 Pennsylvania, #48 North Dakota, #47 Maryland and #46 Montana.
Wyoming Ranks #39 on the list. We rank #46 on Criminal DUI Penalties and #27 on DUI Prevention.
•Arizona has the longest minimum jail term (10 days) for first-time offenders, while West Virginia has the longest minimum sentence (180 days) for second-time offenders.
•In 37 states, alcohol abuse assessment and/or treatment are mandatory, while sobriety checkpoints are common in 39.
•The installation of an “ignition Interlock device” is mandatory in 24 states after a first arrest with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher. The same is true in another 14 states with a BAC higher than .15. In seven states, these devices are mandatory only after a second offense, and in six states the device is never required.
For the full report and to see where other states ranks, please visit: