Governor Matt Mead said he is pleased with the progress made by the School Safety Task Force, now known as the School Safety Advisory Committee.

In 2013, Governor Mead asked the Legislature to support the Task Force and for a review and recommendations of Wyoming school buildings for safety. The School Safety Advisory Committee has been working on ways to make schools safer and to develop crisis management procedures. It was formalized by the Legislature this year.

The School Safety Advisory Committee is comprised of educators, superintendents, first responders and law enforcement.

The Task Force created the Wyoming Comprehensive Public Safety Planning Model. This model can be used by all 48 Wyoming school districts, law enforcement and emergency responders to refine Emergency Operations Plans. Addressing the most common situations a school may face, the document covers prevention, mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.

According to a news release, Emergency Preparedness Specialists will help school districts develop Emergency Operations Plans and provide training. The specialists operate within the Department of Education.