CHEYENNE, Wyo. (AP) — Gov. Matt Mead is urging Wyoming residents and visitors to take extra care in the outdoors because of the extreme fire danger.

Mead notes there are fire bans on all state lands.

In addition, 12 of the state's 23 counties have instituted their own fire bans so far.

The counties with fire bans as of Wednesday are: Uinta, Sweetwater, Carbon, Albany, Laramie, Natrona, Converse, Platte, Goshen, Weston, Campbell and Crook.

Also, the Game and Fish Department is banning open fires on all lands it administers in the southeastern and central parts of Wyoming.