Contact Us

Game and Fish Liberalizes Ice Fishing Regulations on Some Waters

Scott Olsen, Getty Images

Wyoming Game and Fish has loosened some of its ice fishing regulations on over 20 bodies of water in the state.

Under the special provision, ice anglers can fish with up to six lines instead of the normal maximum of two at certain Wyoming lakes and reservoirs. Wyoming Game and Fish public information officer Al Langston says some regulations still apply, however.

“We have 23 waters where a fisherman, when fishing through the ice, can use up to six poles or tip-ups,” Langston said. “There’s a few regulations that go along with that – they have to have their name on all of their lines, and they have to check all of their lines.”

Four bodies of water in Natrona County are covered under the special provision. The 23 provision-covered waters include:

  • Alcova Reservoir in Natrona County
  • Big Horn Lake in Bighorn County
  • Big Sandy Reservoir in Sweetwater County
  • Boysen Reservoir in Fremont County
  • Deaver Reservoir in Park County
  • Flaming Gorge Reservoir in Sweetwater County
  • Fontenelle Reservoir in Lincoln County
  • Glendo Reservoir in Platte County
  • Goldeneye Reservoir in Natrona County
  • Grey Reef Reservoir in Natrona County
  • Grayrocks Reservoir in Platte County
  • Guernsey Reservoir in Platte County
  • Harrington Reservoir in Bighorn County
  • Keyhole Reservoir in Crook County
  • Kortes Reservoir in Carbon County
  • Lake DeSmet in Johnson County
  • Ocean Lake in Fremont County
  • Pathfinder Reservoir in Carbon and Natrona County
  • Pilot Butte Reservoir in Fremont County
  • Seminoe Reservoir in Carbon County
  • Sulphur Creek Reservoir in Uinta County
  • Wardell Reservoir in Bighorn County
  • Woodruff Reservoir in Unita County

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for K2 Fan Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive K2 Fan Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.