LARAMIE, Wyo. (AP) — Worland businessman David Bostrom has been elected president of the University of Wyoming Board of Trustees.

Bostrom takes the gavel from Jim Neiman of Hulett, who served two terms as board president.

Bostrom moved up after having served as the board's vice president. He was first appointed as a trustee in 2007. His term expires in 2013.

Buffalo attorney David Palmerlee was elected vice president; attorney John MacPherson of Saratoga was chosen as secretary; and insurance agent Jeff Marsh of Torrington was elected treasurer.

Appointed by the governor with consent of the Wyoming Senate, the UW Board of Trustees consists of 12 members appointed to six-year, staggered terms. As UW's governing body, the trustees have a broad range of responsibilities such as handling the university's major policy and budgetary matters.